A workgroup server consists of nodes which are access points for queue managers and EMS brokers.
A workgroup server's nodes can be viewed on the WorkSpace dashboard. There will be a node viewlet for each workgroup server.
Nodes with a check mark in a green circle signify that the node is active. A node with an exclamation point in a red circle means that the node is stopped or its state is unknown.
To perform actions on a node, select its check box. The action pop-up menu opens (as seen below), displaying all available actions. Please note that your options may differ according to your user permissions which are managed by an admin.
See the below table for an explanation of all node actions.
|Show Object Attributes||Displays node details.|
Displays a topology of the node's objects.
|Create Queue Manager||Create a queue manager within the node. See Create Queue Manager for more information.|
|Events||Displays the node's events.|
Signifies if a node is managed (displays with a check mark). Managed nodes can be discovered.
Select the Manage option to activate an inactive node. Deselect this option to make a node inactive. When deselected, the Delete and Properties options become available in the node menu.
Note: An active node may need to be reactivated by deselecting and re-selecting the Manage option.
Discover Now >
Incremental: The workgroup server maintains the last discovery time for each queue manager and sends this time with each discovery command. Incremental discovery logic will work only if initial discovery is completed and queue managers are fully discovered.
Full: When the workgroup server starts up, it sends a query on every object to the agent. The workgroup server re-connects to each agent and sends an EXCMD_MQ_DISCOVER command. Since the agent thread or process for a given queue manager has just started, while servicing the discover command, the agent allows every inquire object reply from the IBM WMQ command server to be sent to the WGS.
|Add to Favorites||Create a shortcut to the selected node in a favorite objects viewlet.|
|Delete||Displays in the menu when the node is not active (unmanaged). Deletes the selected node.|
|Properties||Opens the Properties window where you can view and/or edit the node’s configurations. This option is available in the menu when the node is inactive (unmanaged).|
See Create a node for information on how to create a node.
Adding a node viewlet
Node viewlets can be added to any dashboard. See Adding a viewlet to your dashboard for more information.