After selecting the queues, a pop-up menu appears. Select Messages from the pop-up menu where you will see two options on the sub-menu related to purging a queue: Delete All and Clear All.
What is the difference between clearing and deleting messages?
- Clear All: clears an entire queue without reading the messages. This function will not work if the queue is open by another application or if the queue contains uncommitted messages.
- Delete All: allows the user to delete all messages within the selected queue. The system reads then deletes one message at a time. This function does not recognize uncommitted messages, which means that there could still be uncommitted messages on the queue. Also, the command might fail if the queue is exclusively opened by another application.
In both cases a confirmation dialog box will appear to complete the action: